The Other News

Dec 02nd 2021
Text size
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home Awards & Recognition Awards Vidya Balan wins a National Award

Vidya Balan wins a National Award

E-mail Print PDF

India's oldest and most respected  film awards, the National Awards have been announced.

New Delhi. The Prestigious 59th National Film Awards were announced today by the Chairpersons of the three juries, Ms Rohini Hattangady  for feature films, Mr Ramesh Sharma for non- feature films and Ms. Vijaya Mulay for Best Writing on Cinema.

The top honour in the Feature Film category,  the Best Film  is shared by  films Deool (Marathi)  produced by Abhijeet Gholap and directed by Umesh Vinayak Kulkarni and Byari ( Byari language) produced  by T.H. Althaf Hussain and directed by Suveeram. The award carries Swarna  Kamal (a golden lotus trophy) and cash prize of Rs 2,50,000.  In Non-feature film category  the top honour, Best Film went to And We Play On (Hindi and English) directed and produced by Pramod Purswane. The awards carries Swarna Kamal and cash prize of Rs 150,000. The book R.D. Burman – The Man won a Sw arna Kamal for Best Writing on Cinema, The Music written by Anirudha Bhattacharjee and Balaji Vittal, published by Harper Collins India. Whereas Manoj Barpujari from Assam has been awarded Best Film Critic.

In Feature Film category, five films have won three awards each. These Films are, The Dirty Picture (Hindi), Balgandharva (Marathi), Anhe Ghorey Da Daan (Punjabi), Deool (Marathi) and Ranjana Ami Ar Ashbo Na (Bengali).  Six films have won two awards each.  These are Chillar Party (Hindi),  Azhagarsamiyin Kuthirai (Tamil), Aaranyakandam (Tamil), Phijigee Mani (Manipuri) , Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara (Hindi) and Game (Hindi).  

The  Best Actor award goes to Girish Kulkarni for film Deool (Marathi) and Best Actress to Vidya Balan for the film The Dirty Picture (Hindi). Azhagarsamiyin Kuthirai (Tamil) won the award for Wholesome Entertainment, Chillar Party (Hindi) won Best Children Film, Best Director to Gurvinder Singh for Punjabi film Anhe Ghorey Da Daan, Best Singer to Anand Bhate (Male)  for Marathi film Balgandharva and Roopa Ganguly (Female) for the Bengali film Abosheyshey. Kumararaja Thiagarajan has won the Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut film of a Director.

In the Non-Feature film category, three films have won two awards each.  The Film Tiger Dynasty has won the Best Environmental Film and Best Cinematography awards.  Awards for Best Direction and Best Editing have been taken away by the film There is Something in the Air. Film Panchakki has been awarded Best Short Fiction and Best Music Direction.


Hot Topic


Made In India at London Fashion Week

  FAD International Academy unveils House of MEA promoting Indian designers at Fashion ...


Mobile phones to tackle malnutrition


Free BPO training for the youth



Cloud computing to create over 2 million jobs in India

A new research by IDC predicts 15 per cent of total jobs created by cloud across the worl...


ग्रामीण बच्चों ने जीते कम्प्यूटर और साईकिल

सोनीपत के एक गाँव में प्रतिभावान व...

Our Partners